Prepayment Innovation Award Winner


The South African Prepayment Innovation Award has been won by Conlog. The competition was open to manufacturers and suppliers involved in all aspects of prepayment technologies for the electricity, water and telecommunications industries, and Conlog was recognised for its ground-breaking work in providing a solution for the implementation of the government‘s poverty tariff.

The greatest stumbling block in implementing the 50kWh of free electricity was the high cost of integrating a solution into the various existing infrastructures. Conlog’s proposal was based on a simple software upgrade that could be integrated into existing equipment quickly and at low cost.

Conlog’s Static Token was chosen as the overall winner by a panel of judges from South African utility Eskom, the Standard Transfer Specification (STS) Association, the Water Research Commission and Spintelligent, publishers of Smart Energy International.