NYPA secures diamond designation for service reliability


The New York Power Authority (NYPA) has secured a diamond designation as a reliable public power provider from the American Public Power Association.

The recognition demonstrates a utility’s commitment to its employees, customers and community, as well as its dedication to operating an efficient, safe and reliable power system.

This means NYPA is now in the top 5% of public power utilities nationwide for reliability, safety and services.

NYPA has now joined more than 270 public power utilities with the diamond designation, amongst the 2,000 firms nationwide.

The diamond designation means NYPA has met over 98% of the evaluation criteria including provides what customers want (reliable power, reasonable prices and good customer service.)

Other evaluation criteria include:

  • Reliability which goes deeper than day‑to‑day service, and includes collection and analysis of reliability data, mutual aid agreements, system wide disaster management and emergency response plans, and cyber and physical security.
  • Safety commitment from the energy generation to distribution to usage lines and includes workforce and consumer safety.
  • Workforce Development which involves a variety of forums such as webinars, workshops, conferences, college courses, in‑house programmes and opportunities to network with public power colleagues from across the nation.
  • System Improvement initiatives including maintenance of system integrity and long‑term planning.

Brad Van Auken, senior vice president of operations support services at NYPA, said:“Our goal in utility operations is to safely, effectively and efficiently operate and maintain NYPA’s generation and transmission assets, and to ensure a reliable power supply that meets the future energy needs of New York State by investing in our assets.

“Achieving RP3 Diamond designation is no simple task. It’s a great accomplishment that involved input from across the organization.”

In its 14th year, the designation is offered every three years, the review panels consist of 18 experts.