Awards recipients for Outstanding Standards Development announced


The IEEE Standards Association has announced the 2019 recipients of its Outstanding Standards Development Contributions awards.

The awards recognised the role played by organisations and individuals in the development of standards to drive technological innovation, fuel growth of global markets, expand consumer choice, support interoperability and help protect the health and public safety of workers and the general public.

The winners include:

  • Duke Energy – The utility is receiving the Distinguished Service Award for outstanding and dedicated service to the IEEE SA Standards Board based on major contributions to the standards development process
  • The IEEE 1876 Working Group for Networked Smart Learning Objects for online laboratories
  • Garry Roedler, a member of the IEEE to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for significant technical contributions to a standards committee or IEEE field of interest
  • The IEEE Consumer Electronics Society Standards Committee will receive the Standards Committee Award for the outstanding response to the industry in standards development

Related stories
IEEE okays university’s pilot testbed for grid interoperability
New IREC guide to help states understand new IEEE DER standard
IEEE registers more Power & Energy Society engagement members

The awards will be presented on 8 November 2019, during the annual awards ceremony at The Hyatt Regency, New Brunswick, NJ, USA.

Robert Fish, president of the IEEE Standards Association, said: “This year’s recipients of the IEEE SA awards are recognised for their exceptional dedication to and involvement in the IEEE SA’s standards development process.

“Advancing technology for the benefit of humanity would not be possible without the hard work and commitment of these honorees. We applaud their achievements and look forward to their continuing contributions to standards development.”