Award focuses on optimizing energy use


HH Sheikh Mohamed
bin Rashid Al Maktoum,
VP and Prime Minister
of the UAE
and Ruler of Dubai 
Dubai, UAE — (METERING.COM) — January 31, 2007 – The Dubai Quality Group (DQG) has introduced the Emirates Energy Award, which aims at increasing awareness amongst individuals and policymakers on the importance of optimizing energy use. The Award, which has the patronage of HH Sheikh Mohamed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, was launched by HH Sheikh Ahmed bin Saeed Al Maktoum, Chairman of Dubai Department of Civil Aviation and Chairman of Emirates Group.

In a written message to the media released at the launch, HH Sheikh Ahmed said: “The DQG is launching the Emirates Energy Award to recognize the best implemented practices in energy conservation and management that showcase innovative, cost-effective and replicable energy efficiency measures.

“The goals of the Emirates Energy Award align with the vision of the leaders of this country to optimally manage our resources.”

Mr. Marwan Al Sawaleh, Chairman of DQG, said: “The significant increase in the demand for energy and its subsequent impact on the environment and economy in the region necessitate the presence of continuous improved energy efficiency, conservation and management measures. This mandates a strong and effective campaign – such as the Emirates Energy Award – to encourage and foster energy conservation and management practices.”

The Emirates Energy Award, which will be presented annually by HH Sheikh Mohammed, is open to all organizations and individuals, as long as the submitted entries are being implemented in any one of the Gulf Corporation Council (GCC) countries.

The deadline for receiving entries this year is July 5, 2007 and submitted projects must have been completed after December 2002, but should have been in operation for a minimum period of two years and should still be functioning.

The Award will have six categories: Public Corporation Energy Award, Private Corporation Energy Award, Energy Engineer Award, Major Energy Project Award, Minor Energy Project Award, and Education & Research Award. The winners, and the organizations they represent, will receive recognition for best practices in energy management and conservation.