Australia’s energy regulator establishes consumer advisory panel


Andrew Reeves
Chair AER
Melbourne, Australia — (METERING.COM) — July 10, 2013

The Australian Energy Regulator (AER) has established a 13-member Consumer Challenge Panel (CCP) to help ensure that decisions on network costs incorporate the interests of consumers.

The panel of experts, each appointed in their individual capacity, will advise the AER on the issues that are important to consumers as it assesses the network businesses’ spending and regulatory proposals.

The CCP is a key component of the Council of Australian Governments’ energy reform agenda, and is aimed to ensure that AER decisions reflect the long term interests of consumers.

“Members of our challenge panel possess vast local and international expertise, which they will use to provide consumer perspectives that challenge network businesses’ spending proposals,” commented AER chairman Andrew Reeves.

  • Jo De Silva, senior policy officer responsible for energy policy at the South Australian Council of Social Service (SACOSS)
  • Hugh Grant, a former utility professional, currently convener of the Australian Sustainability Leaders Forum (ASLF) among other roles
  • David Headberry, director of Headberry Partners advising large energy users and a non-executive director of the Energy and Water Ombudsman of Victoria
  • Mark Henley, energy advocate with UnitingCare Australia and manager, advocacy and communication with Uniting Communities in South Australia
  • Bev Hughson, of Darach Energy Consulting Services providing advice and support services to consumer organizations
  • Adrian Kemp, a director with NERA Economic Consulting
  • Ruth Lavery, a former director at IPART, now a trustee of the NSW government’s Responsible Gambling Fund
  • Bob Lim, advisor to major energy consuming companies and to residential and community organizations
  • Fiona McLeod, former Energy and Water Ombudsman of Victoria
  • Bruce Mountain, an energy economist and director at Carbon and Energy Markets
  • Dr Gillian Owen, a part time research program leader at Monash University and part time Senior Research Fellow with the Energy Institute, University College London
  • David Prins, managing director of Etrog Consulting providing advice and resources to energy and utility clients
  • Robyn Robinson, a former executive manager of Powerlink, currently director at Council on the Ageing (COTA) Queensland among other activities.

These members have been appointed to the CCP for an initial three-year term starting July 1, 2013.