smart cities
Hand showing Internet of things (IoT) word diagram as concept

Webinar broadcast: December 13, 2018

8:00am PT | 11:00am ET | 16:00pm GMT | 17:00pm CET | 18:00pm CEST

The shift from private radio, low-bandwidth communication networks to public cellular networks has transformed how utility companies manage assets, infrastructure, operations and serve their customers.

The relative low cost and ease of using cellular technology have been driving many utilities to adopt Long-Term Evolution (LTE) cellular networks over the past few years. However, there remains a level of scepticism and unease with LTE technology as a primary means of connecting assets in their distribution network. Even with improved overall accessibility to data, many questions remain on whether the cellular networks can provide all the required capabilities for utility companies.

Join our panel of industry experts for this insightful 60-minute webinar as we discuss how LTE cellular networks can help improve grid intelligence, operations and data management; how public cellular networks compare to other communication networks (such as radio mesh, fixed point-to-point, private cellular, etc.) including technical choices for investments, and explore the future evolution of connected IoT for utilities.

In this webinar, you will learn about:

 

• Current and future industry trends for LTE technologies
• The convergence of private and public networks and how they can co-exist (hybrid solutions)
• Future proofing your organisation; adoption of new technologies and how to bridge the gap
• Recommendations for working with the right solution providers

Register today

Speakers:

Jay Olearain | Product Director of Internet of Things (IoT) Solutions, Global Products and Solutions | Verizon

Warren Westrup | Director Business Development – Utility & Industrial Sectors | Sierra Wireless