Brussels, Belgium — (METERING.COM) — September 30, 2011 – Leading players in Europe involved in energy storage, including manufacturers, utilities and academic bodies, have come together to create the European Association for Storage of Energy (EASE).

This international non-profit association is focused on acting as a coherent voice to promote the roles of energy storage as key enabling technologies for Europe’s transition towards a sustainable, flexible and stable energy system. The main aims are to stimulate the development of innovative energy storage technologies and applications through building a platform for the sharing and dissemination of knowledge and information and coordinating national activities.

Effective energy storage can deliver a number of strategic services both on the regulated and deregulated side of the power business, addressing the three major challenges of balancing demand and supply, management of transmission and distribution grids, and energy efficiency.
The creation of EASE results from an initiative of the European Commission, including an Energy Storage Task Force launched in 2009, looking for a consensual vision of the roles, technologies and potential applications of energy storage within the frame of EU Energy and Climate policy.

EASE will promote and support analysis and evaluation of the benefits of utilizing energy storage in the broader energy grid.

The Association will work on technology and application related aspects of energy storage such as assessment of storage applications and development of storage technology roadmaps as well as addressing financial, economic and regulatory issues. It plans also to work with all relevant groups on the optimal integration of all components into validation projects and business models for a successful transition to a low carbon, safe and sustainable energy infrastructure, and to help establish a coherent master plan for the introduction of energy storage worldwide.

EASE will also cooperate with other national and international energy storage organizations, including the Electricity Storage Association (ESA) in the U.S.A.

The 13 founding members of EASE are Alstom, DONG Energy A/S, EDF SA, EnBW AG, Enel S.p.A., E.ON AG, GDF SUEZ SA, Hitachi Power Europe GmbH, KEMA BV, RISØ DTU, RWE AG, Saft SAS, and Siemens AG.