European smart metering industry group launched


Andreas Umbach,
Brussels, Belgium — (METERING.COM) — January 22, 2009 – The European Smart Metering Industry Group (ESMIG) has been launched by leading companies in Europe to provide knowledge and expertise on smart metering and related communications at a European level.

“ESMIG is striving to change the way we consume energy. Together we represent the entire smart metering value chain, but more importantly, we provide a technology that is available today – in the here and now – but is also a key to our energy supply and environmental goals of the future,” said Andreas Umbach, president of ESMIG and COO of Landis+Gyr, at the launch.

The formation of ESMIG comes as the European Union sets itself energy management targets by the year 2020: to reduce the output of greenhouse gases by 20%, to improve energy efficiency by 20% and to increase the percentage of renewable energy by 20%.

According to Umbach, the development of fully operational smart metering solutions across Europe is essential in achieving the EU targets: “These targets mean that we must change. The metering industry has already begun as we understand that smart metering is an essential building block for smart grids as well as Europe’s ability to create an energy infrastructure for the future, which is essential for increased energy efficiency.”

ESMIG covers all aspects of smart metering, including electricity, gas, water, and heat measurement. Member companies cover the entire value chain from meter manufacturing, software, installation, consulting, to communications and system integration. By giving support to European Union institutions and member state governments ESMIG aims to assist in the development of national and European-wide introduction, rollout and management of smart metering solutions.

Other members of the ESMIG Board include Malcolm Unsworth (Itron, Inc. Actaris), Michael Krumpholz (Görlitz), Johannes Hauck (Hager), Erik Brenneis (Cinterion), Antonio Papoila (Janz), Jean-Philippe Sacriste (Sagem Communications), Stefan Grosjean (EnergyICT), Ron Black (Wavecom), Andreas Sadek (EMH), Frank Hyldmar (Elster), Bostjan Javsenak (Iskraemeco), Kaushik Ghosh (PRI), Johannes Sappa (Diehl Metering), and Colin Walsby (Sensus).

Other executive positions include Howard Porter (BEAMA) as managing director and Klaus-Dieter Axt (CEDED) as operations director. Olivier Beaujard (Wavecom) chairs the WAN group, Ralf Hoffmann (Görlitz) chairs the LAN group, Stefan Grosjean (EnergyICT) chairs the HAN group, and Thomas Schaub (Landis+Gyr) chairs the technical standards group.

ESMIG membership is open to any company supplying utility metering products or services within Europe.