Argonne National Lab to lead U.S. DOE’s batteries and energy storage hub


George W.
Crabtree, Director,
Chicago, IL, U.S.A. — (METERING.COM) — December 5, 2012 – A new batteries and energy storage research hub to be led by Argonne National Laboratory is to be established in the U.S. with support from the Department of Energy.

The hub, to be known as the Joint Center for Energy Storage Research (JCESR), will combine the R&D strengths of five DOE national laboratories, five universities, and four private firms in an effort aimed at achieving revolutionary advances in battery performance.

Advancing next generation battery and energy storage technologies for electric and hybrid cars and the electricity grid are a critical part of the nation’s energy strategy to reduce its reliance on foreign oil and lower energy costs for consumers.

The DOE will provide up to $120 million over five years to establish the hub, which will be located on Argonne’s campus in suburban Chicago.

In addition Illinois governor Pat Quinn is providing $5 million through the Illinois Jobs Now!construction plan to help build the state-of-the-art facility. Governor Quinn has also committed to working to provide an additional $30 million in future capital funding for the building.

“This is a partnership between world leading scientists and world leading companies, committed to ensuring that the advanced battery technologies the world needs will be invented and built right here in America,” said Energy Secretary Steven Chu. “Based on the tremendous advances that have been made in the past few years, there are very good reasons to believe that advanced battery technologies can and will play an increasingly valuable role in strengthening America’s energy and economic security.”

JCESR will be directed by Argonne senior scientist George W. Crabtree, Distinguished Professor of Physics, Electrical and Mechanical Engineering at the University of Illinois at Chicago, and an internationally recognized leader in energy research.

The other national labs participating are Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Sandia National Laboratories, and SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory. University partners include Northwestern University, University of Chicago, University of Illinois-Chicago, University of Illinois-Urbana Champaign, and University of Michigan. The four industrial partners include Dow Chemical Company, Applied Materials, Inc., Johnson Controls, Inc., and Clean Energy Trust.

The energy innovation hubs, of which this is the fourth to be established, are intended to bring together researchers from different institutions and technical backgrounds to accelerate scientific discovery in critical energy areas.