EDA announces electricity distribution company award recipients


Charlie Macaluso,
President & CEO,
Toronto, ON, Canada — (METERING.COM) — April 3, 2008 – The Electricity Distributors Association (EDA) announced the recipients of its annual industry awards, which were presented on March 31st at the EDA’s Annual General Meeting in Toronto. The Electricity Distributors Association (EDA) is the voice of Ontario’s local electricity distributors, the publicly and privately owned companies that safely and reliably deliver electricity to Ontario homes, businesses and public institutions.

"Whether it is the outstanding contribution of an individual or the significant accomplishment of a local electricity distribution company (LDC), the EDA recognizes outstanding achievement in the LDC sector through its annual awards program," said Charlie Macaluso, EDA President and CEO. "There is a long tradition of achievement in Ontario’s electricity utility industry. The yearly presentation of the Association’s awards ensures that this excellence is recognized and celebrated."

The EDA’s Local Distribution Company (LDC) Performance Excellence Award, sponsored by Ontario Power Generation (OPG), was presented to Hydro Ottawa Limited.

Hydro Ottawa distinguished itself among its peers by performance excellence in 2007 in the following areas: occupational health and safety, operational excellence, financial operations, retail strategies for conservation and demand management, and, for contribution to community.

"At OPG, we believe it’s all about performance. That’s why we are extremely pleased to be involved with this award," said Jim Hankinson, President and CEO of Ontario Power Generation. "A number of excellent nominees were put forward for this presentation of the OPG sponsored LDC Performance Excellence Award again in 2007. Hydro Ottawa demonstrated a level of exceptional performance in all criteria and we are very pleased to recognize their achievement."

The Innovation Award, Public Relations was won by Barrie Hydro, whose ENERGY STAR® Awareness Program was designed and implemented locally to increase awareness about the importance of conservation, energy efficiency and the benefits of using ENERGY STAR qualified appliances. The program also provided short-term financial incentives to Barrie Hydro customers to encourage them to dispose of inefficient appliances and purchase and use ENERGY STAR qualified appliances over conventional appliances.

Toronto Hydro Electric System received the Innovation Award, Customer Service. The utility’s Summer Challenge for Business Program offered eligible businesses a 10% credit if consumption was reduced by 10% over the program period. Nearly 13,000 commercial customers achieved the 10% reduction and credit, while over 4,000 businesses were able to achieve a 25% reduction in demand in 2007.

The Environmental Excellence Award went to Guelph Hydro Electric Systems. Its Guelph Energy Plan sets out a 25-year strategy for the city to ensure long-term competitiveness and environmental performance. The plan was developed by several local partners, including Guelph Hydro Electric Systems. The development of the plan demonstrates how local government, community agencies and local distributors are working together to realize real environmental change for their communities.

Guy Cluff, President and CEO, Westario Power, was awarded a Chair’s Citation for his 35 years of outstanding and dedicated service to the Association and electricity distribution industry. Gunars Ceksters, former President and CEO, Enersource Corporation, received an Honorary Member Award; he is a 30-year industry leader and respected advocate who served the electricity distribution industry with distinction.