James Arnett appointed new chair at Hydro One


Gerry Phillips, The Ontario Minister of Energy, has appointed James Arnett as the new chair of Hydro One, effective March 31. Hydro One is the provincially-owned utility that develops and maintains most of the province’s electricity transmission system. It also provides local electrical service in many largely rural parts of the province.

Arnett succeeds Rita Burak, who is stepping down after nearly five years as chair. He recently chaired a provincial panel that recommended significant changes to the way compensation is set for senior executives in Ontario’s public electricity sector, including Hydro One. The panel also made recommendations on how Ontario’s five electricity sector institutions can work together more efficiently.

Arnett has years of experience in the electricity sector, and will play a major role in developing Ontario’s vision of a reliable and energy efficient electric system.