Members of newly formed NIST Smart Grid Advisory Committee named


Gaithersburg, MD, U.S.A. — (METERING.COM) — September 28, 2010 – The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) has named 15 members from a cross-section of U.S. industry, academia, and trade and professional organizations to serve on its newly formed Smart Grid Advisory Committee.

The Committee, which convenes its first meeting on September 29, 2010, will advise NIST director Patrick Gallagher, on the direction of the organization’s smart grid-related programs and activities. NIST leads a nationwide effort to expedite development of smart grid interoperability standards. NIST also conducts smart grid research and testing programs on cyber security and synchrophasors, energy management systems for buildings, and other topics.

Dan Sheflin, chief technology officer at Honeywell Automation and Control Systems, will chair the committee. David Owens, executive vice president of business operations at the Edison Electric Institute, will serve as vice chair.

Other advisory committee members are:

  • Jon Arnold, managing director, Worldwide Power & Utilities Industry, Microsoft Corporation 
  • William O. Ball, executive vice president and chief transmission officer, Southern Company 
  • Lynne Ellyn, senior vice president and chief information officer, DTE Energy  
  • Evan R. Gaddis, president and CEO, National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) 
  • Lawrence E. Jones, director, Strategy and Special Projects Worldwide, ALSTOM Grid 
  • Suedeen G. Kelly, partner, Patton Boggs, LLP 
  • Susan M. Miller, president and CEO, Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions (ATIS) 
  • Terry Mohn, founder and chief strategy officer, General MicroGrids, Inc. 
  • Kevin F. Nolan, vice president of technology, GE Appliances 
  • Simon Pontin, vice president for development, Itron Oconee Manufacturing Facility 
  • William H. Sanders, director, Information Trust Institute and
  • Donald Biggar Willett Professor of Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
  • Thomas J. Tobin, vice president – R&D, S&C Electric Company 
  • David Vieau, CEO and president, A123 Systems

“We will benefit greatly from the knowledge and insights of this diverse group of experts,” said Gallagher. “We are grateful for their willingness to serve and to share their thinking on how NIST can maximize its technical contributions to modernizing and securing the nation’s electric power grid.”