New Smart Grid Interoperability Panel governing board members


Phoenix, AZ, U.S.A. — (METERING.COM) — December 9, 2011 – The newly elected Governing Board members of the U.S. Smart Grid Interoperability Panel (SGIP) have been announced.
Beginning in January 2012, the following stakeholder categories will be represented as follows:

  • Appliance and consumer electronics providers: Brian Markwalter, Consumer Electronics Association.
  • Electric utility companies – Investor owned utilities (IOUs) and publicly owned utilities: George Bjelovuk, AEP
  • Electric utility companies – Rural Electric Association (REA): Bob Saint, NRECA
  • Information technology (IT) application developers and integrators: Brent Hodges, Tendril
  • Professional societies, users groups, trade associations and industry consortia: Wayne Longcore, SAP
  • Relevant federal government agencies: Lisa Kaiser, DHS
  • Retail service providers: Mark Smith, Reliant
  • State and local regulators: Paul Centolella, PUCO
  • Transmission operators and independent system operators: David Forfia, ERCOT
  • At-large: Doug Kim, SCE, John McDonald, GE, Don Von Dollen, EPRI

A runoff vote is pending for categories 3 (Consumers – residential, commercial and industrial) and 9 (Independent power producers), in which candidates were tied.