energy package

Webinar broadcast: Wednesday 25 September 2019

10h00 New York | 14h00 GMT | 15h00 London | 16h00 Johannesburg | 16h00 Paris | 19h30 New Delhi | 22h00 Singapore | 23h00 Tokyo

Directive (EU) 2019/944 on common rules for the internal market for electricity, Directive 2012/27/EU and the Regulation (EU) 2019/943 on the internal market for electricity are all set to change the face of the EU energy markets.

EU 2019/944 will determine the rules shaping a new common electricity market within the EU, encouraging member states to support cross-border trade in electricity, facilitate consumer participation, sustain investments in flexible energy generation — including storage and electro-mobility — and improve interconnections among different national energy systems.
The provisions also require, among other things, electricity markets to be competitive and consumer-centred, while ensuring that electricity customers are free to purchase power from the supplier of their choice.

Regulation (EU) 2019/943 aims to set the ground rules for the future common electricity market, describing how a fair cross-border exchange in electricity should be conducted, while also setting the basic rules to encourage free price formation and more flexible generation and demand.

Central to the directive is the belief that it should "deliver appropriate investment incentives for generation, in particular for long-term investments in a decarbonised and sustainable electricity system, energy storage, energy efficiency and demand response to meet market needs."

Join Smart Energy International as we explore the energy transition in Europe and how these directives are enabling a new energy dynamic.

Speakers

1. Roberto Zangrandi Secretary-General, E.DSO

2. Willem Strabbing, Managing Director, ESMIG

3. Laurent Schmitt, Secretary-General, ENTSO-E