What the 22nd edition World Energy Markets Observatory reveals about climate change and energy transition goals

Webinar broadcast date: 10 November 2020  

10h00 New York | 15h00 GMT| 15h00 London | 16h00 Paris | 16h00 Amsterdam | 17h00 Johannesburg | 20h30 New Delhi | 23h00 Singapore | 02h00 Melbourne

2020 has been a year of dramatic and rapid change for the energy industry: Consumption fell by up to 20% during peak lockdown periods; global greenhouse gas emissions dropped to the lowest levels since World War II; and the share of renewables surged to more than 40% in some markets. But is this progress? Are these changes sustainable? Will these actions help the world reach our climate change goals?

These are some of the key questions posed by the authors of the 22nd Edition of the World Energy Markets Observatory (WEMO), Capgemini’s annual thought leadership and research report that tracks the development and transformation of energy markets around the world. The latest edition of WEMO reveals how the global pandemic has altered the course of the industry—and what these points suggest about our ability to create sustainable change in the future.

We invite you to join our experts as they review key findings from this year’s WEMO in a webinar: In pursuit of carbon neutrality: What the World Energy Markets Observatory reveals about our climate change and energy transition goals.

Topics include:

  • The status of near- and long-term climate change goals outlined in the Paris Accord
  • How green recovery packages could accelerate sustainability efforts
  • Mitigating security of supply issues due to increased use of intermittent renewables
  • Oil & Gas majors’ carbon neutrality strategy
  • Electricity and gas retail market recovery
  • Utility financial impact from COVID-19 and other geopolitical issues
  • Capgemini’s key recommendations for a sustainable future

Speakers:
Philippe Vié, Energy & Utilities Sector Head, Capgemini
Colette Lewiner, Senior Energy Advisor to Capgemini Chairman
Elfije Lemaitre, North America Energy Lead, Capgemini

Previous articleBreaking News: DISTRIBUTECH+ virtual community surpasses 1000 members
Next articleHydrogen-based energy storage completed for Greek microgrid
Capgemini
Capgemini is a global leader in consulting, digital transformation, technology and engineering services. The Group is at the forefront of innovation to address the entire breadth of clients’ opportunities in the evolving world of cloud, digital and platforms. Building on its strong 50-year+ heritage and deep industry-specific expertise, Capgemini enables organizations to realize their business ambitions through an array of services from strategy to operations. Capgemini is driven by the conviction that the business value of technology comes from and through people. Today, it is a multicultural company of 270,000 team members in almost 50 countries. With Altran, the Group reported 2019 combined revenues of €17billion.