Grid resilience webinar

In light of the recent state of play around the world, we have decided to move this webinar to a later date in the year. While this is and continues to be an important topic which is in need of discussion, we are going to be running a series of webinars during the week of 6-9 April instead in which we focus on Utility Crisis Management and the COVID-19 pandemic.


06h00 Canada 09h00 New York | 13h00 GMT | 14h00 London | 15h00 Paris | 15h00 Amsterdam | 15h00 Johannesburg | 18h30 New Delhi | 21h00 Singapore | 23h00 Melbourne

There is a multitude of threats facing the electric grid and that needs to be taken into account when planning for grid resilience. From extreme weather events such as hurricanes to solar storms, weather events are predicted to increase in severity and frequency and the biggest impact of any interruption on the grid is felt by consumers.

While most outages occur at the distribution level, that is not to say that the transmission grid is not equally vulnerable – and resilience efforts need to take both distribution and transmission assets into account.

Join us as we answer the following questions:

  • What are the first steps to developing a grid resilience programme?
  • What is the impact of legislation and regulation on the need for resilience?
  • What practical examples are there of effective technological assistance?
  • How can you evaluate grid resilience efficacy ahead of an actual event?
  • What role if any, should microgrids play in grid resilience?
  • What lessons can I take from India, the US and Europe?