Grid Defection
Image credit: Stock

Webinar broadcast: 31 July 2019

11h00 New York | 15h00 GMT | 16h00 London | 17h00 Johannesburg | 17h00 Paris | 20h30 New Delhi| 00h00 Tokyo

Solar, wind and other renewables, on-site battery storage, and microgrids are the future, not fads. They’re becoming reality as governments and regulators incentivise grid defection, with seemingly scant regard for the utilities that enable this change.

Are you feeling the weight of this, and are you ready to seize the opportunities it holds?

Our webinar, “Grid Defection – prosumer pain or pure profit?” sees leading global experts answer the industry’s burning questions, such as: 

  • Is Power becoming decentralised?
  • How do utilities maximise the opportunities of grid defection for higher profits now and in the future?
  • How to manage associated asset redundancies, without major investment?
  • Emerging trends in the Prosumer market.
  • State-of-the-art programmes and consumer options that are shaping the grid, and safeguarding the future.

Make up your own mind – informed with insights into a more certain future.

Speakers:

Dr. Eric Hittinger: Associate Professor, Rochester Institute of Technology

Dr. Hittinger is an Associate Professor in Public Policy and Affiliated Faculty at the Golisano Institute for Sustainability at Rochester Institute of Technology, and regularly consults for energy storage manufacturers and developers. He holds a PhD in Engineering and Public Policy from Carnegie Mellon University and a MS in Macromolecular Science from Case Western Reserve University. Professor Hittinger has a background in electricity system policy, operation, and economics, with a focus on understanding the benefits and limitations of energy storage and renewable electricity sources. Before entering the energy field, he was a Project Management Engineer for the US Army, with extensive travel to support military operations abroad.

Jamie Mandel – Managing Director – Rocky Mountain Institute

Jamie Mandel is Managing Director of RMI's Buildings Program.  RMI's Buildings Program focuses on cost-effective and market-based solutions to decarbonize the built environment.  The program comprises initiatives focused on net-zero energy district design in the US, China, and India; portfolio energy optimization from an investment perspective; accelerating electrified and net zero retrofits in multifamily affordable housing; and helping cities adopt aggressive energy efficiency codes and policies.