Appointments announced for energy regulator


John Mogg,
U.K. Energy Minister Malcolm Wicks has announced key appointments to the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority. Sir John Mogg has been appointed to serve a second five year term as non executive Chairman from October 2008. Andrew Wright, Ofgem managing director of Markets, joins the Authority as an executive member and Judith Hanratty has been reappointed as a non-executive.

Malcolm Wicks said: "I am pleased that Sir John has agreed to continue as Chair of the Authority. There are a number of important challenges facing energy policy in the next few years, such as the need to ensure security of supply, tackle fuel poverty and address sustainability. Ofgem is a crucial player in meeting our energy goals and I am confident that under Sir John’s leadership, they will maximize their contribution to achieving these goals. Sir John has already played a key role in pursuing liberalization of EU energy markets and this work will continue.”

Sir John Mogg was first appointed non-executive Chair of Ofgem on 1 October 2003. He will now serve for a further five years. He was previously Director General, Internal Market and Financial Services and Deputy Director General, Industry at the European Commission. He held posts in the UK as Deputy Head, European Secretariat, at the Cabinet Office and was Principal Private Secretary to three Secretaries of State, also holding other senior posts at the Department of Trade and Industry. He was elected Chairman of the European Regulators Group for Electricity and Gas (ERGEG), in December 2005. He is also the President of the Council of European Energy Regulators (CEER).

Judith Hanratty CVO OBE has agreed to serve a further two-year term from 1 January 2008 as non-executive member of the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority. Dr Andrew Wright joined on Ofgem on January 1, 2008 as Managing Director, Markets and takes up executive membership of the Authority at the same time.

The Gas and Electricity Markets Authority governs the direction and policies of the gas and electricity watchdog Ofgem. Non-executive members bring a range of experience and expertise from industry and social policy to the environment, finance and Europe. Ofgem’s Chief Executive and Managing Directors are Executive members of the Authority.