Lord Mogg reappointed ICER chair


Founding chair of the International Confederation of Energy Regulators (ICER), Lord Mogg, has been unanimously reappointed for a further 3-year term.

Lord Mogg is president of the Council of European Energy Regulators (CEER), chair of the Board of Regulators of the European Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators (ACER), and chair of the British regulator, Ofgem.

David C Boyd from the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission representing NARUC has been elected to the newly created ICER vice chair position for a 3-year period up to the next World Forum (VI) in Istanbul, Turkey in 2015.

ICER’s 2012-2015 work program, leading up to WF VI, will be managed by four virtual working groups. These are:
Opening of markets: chair Francisco Barnés (ARIAE, Mexico) and vice chair Hafez El-Salmawy (MEDREG, Egypt)
Technological change and renewables: chair Yvonne Frediksson (CEER, Sweden)
Small consumers: chair Ken Quesnelle (CAMPUT, Ontario)
Regulatory best practice: chair John Betkoski III (NARUC, Connecticut).

ICER was created in 2009 as a voluntary framework for the co¬operation of energy regulators from around the globe, with the aim is to improve awareness and understanding of energy regulation and to play a role in ad¬dressing market issues.